AASL National School Library Standards

The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) has established a set of National School Library Standards which define and describe best practices for school librarianship. Each of the following pages focuses on one of the six identified foundations and includes links and resources which support the standards.

  • Foundation: Inquire

    Inquiry allows learners to grow to become curious, critical thinkers and problem solvers.

  • Foundation: Include

    Inclusiveness ensures that the library and it’s programs respects the diversity of the community and ensures that the library serves all.

  • Foundation: Collaborate

    Collaboration creates an interactive network of learners and professionals.

  • Foundation: Curate

    Curation allows learners to explore and select relevant and meaningful resources.

  • Foundation: Explore

    Exploration provides learners with opportunities to engage and reflect.

  • Foundation: Engage

    Engagement is about connection – learning and sharing – with the community and the world.